WFSF Awards

WFSF Awards have been granted since 1994 to individuals, groups and institutions at the forefront of futures studies and research.

Recent WFSF Awards include:


At the WFSF 22nd World Conference in Jondal Norway, June 2017, three awards were granted:

WFSF Lifetime Achievement Awards presented to:

Professor Johan Galtung: for “outstanding achievement and in acknowledgement of his many contributions to the field of futures studies, peace studies, and to the well being of humankind, and in particular for his significant contribution to the origins of the World Futures Studies Federation.”

Professor Richard Slaughter: for “outstanding achievement and in acknowledgement of his many contributions to the field of futures studies and strategic foresight, and in particular for his significant contribution to the development and consolidation of the knowledge base of futures studies.”

WFSF President’s Outstanding Young Futurist Award presented to:

Professor Seongwon Park, Korea Advanced Institute of Science & Technology (KAIST) Graduate Program for Future Strategy & Research Fellow, Science and Technology Policy Institute (STEPI), South Korea.

The “WFSF President’s Outstanding Young Futurist Award” to be awarded from time to time when a young person shows outstanding achievements in futures studies.

For International Women’s Day 2017: WFSF honoured two outstanding women.

WFSF International Women’s Day Global Award 2017: Presented to Dr Kakenya Ntaiya, an inspiring Maasai woman educator from Kenya.

WFSF President’s Outstanding Woman Futurist 2017: Presented to Dr Dana Klisanin, an innovative psychologist and futurist from New York.

Read full article

WFSF Iberoamerican

3 June 2021 The Annual Conference Program -PAC-2021 The cycle is organized by the Center for Foresight Studies (CEP), Faculty of Political and Social Sciences, National University of Cuyo, the Centers for Foresight Studies of CUYO AC. and the Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation of Argentine. With the support and collaboration of the Open Network of Foresight and Innovation for Latin America and the Caribbean (CYTED Program) and the World Futures Studies Federation (WFSF). During five days, to be held between June and October, internationally recognized specialists in the field of foresight will address the methodology for strategic rethinking, the emerging paradigm of post-normal science, the effects of COVID-19 at global level, the scenarios and their relationship with the resilience of the future and the articulation with strategic intelligence. The opening of the first meeting had the participation of the National Director of Studies of the MINCyT, Vanesa Lowenstein; the director of the Centers for Foresight Studies of Cuyo, Luis Ragno; from the regional vice president of the World Futures Studies Federation, Guillermina Baena Paz and the coordinator of the Open Network for Foresight and Innovation for Latin America and the Caribbean of the Ibero-American Program of Science and Technology for Development, Javier Medina Vásquez. It was moderated by the INTA researcher and co-director of the Center for Foresight Studies, Javier Vitale. The main dissertation was given by Professor Rafael Ramírez, director of the Oxford Scenarios Program and academic director of the Strategy Laboratory of the same University, who …

Read full articleWFSF Iberoamerican

WFSF Elections 2021

The WFSF Executive Board and President may be re-elected to serve for up to two consecutive four-year terms. We are very fortunate that, as with the last Election in 2013, almost half the current Executive Board are willing to serve for a second term if the Members want. This is common practice in high levels of government where Senate elections are often staggered so that only half members are replaced at any Election. While not locked into our Constitution, the desire of eligible Board Members to stand for a second term is a demonstration of their commitment to the Federation, and the cooperation and harmony of Board working relationships. This has the potential to ensure continuity and consolidation of the Federation’s strength and direction, especially with regard to our UNESCO and UN cooperation.

Read full article